Too Too Login


While attending a Founders' Day Celebration in February 1980, five graduate sorors initiated in Delta Omicron Chapter began discussing the forthcoming 20th anniversary of their undergraduate chapter's chartering in DeKalb, Illinois. From this discussion, evolved the Delta Omicron 20th Anniversary Celebration Committee. These sorors became diligent in their efforts to bring all sorors initiated into Delta Omicron together again. As plans were being formulated to herald this event, it became apparent that Delta Omicron was no longer a functioning chapter and was in jeopardy of losing its charter.

Rededication to Alpha Kappa Alpha and to Delta Omicron proved to be a powerful and emotional experience. In July 1980 several concerned Delta Omicron alumnae met to discuss the plight of their former chapter. From this meeting, the Delta Omicron Reactivation Committee was formed. More than a dozen alumnae of the chapter were reclaimed as financial members.

Upon receiving the enthusiastic approval and support of Soror Peggy LeCompte, 19th Central Regional Director, a series of informational meetings were held in DeKalb and Chicago with young women who were interested in joining the sisterhood of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Sixteen of these young women were inducted into the Ivy Leaf Pledge Club on February 23, 1981. On March 28,1981, in a ceremony conducted by the Central Regional Director, the fifteen members of the Ivy Leaf Pledge Club became women of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Delta Omicron Chapter.

With the reactivation of Delta Omicron completed, the Reactivation Committee turned its attention toward the fulfillment of another goal. The unity and sisterhood regained in its efforts of reactivation proved to be the nucleuses of the desire to charter a new graduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. In a short time the chartering committee met its tasks and assignments. The reward was the sanction from the Directorate of Alpha Kappa Sorority to be presented with a charter. On July 9, 1982, Xi Nu Omega was chartered. Soror Peggy LeCompte, Central Regional Director, conducted the chartering ceremony and sorors from all over the metropolitan Chicago area were in attendance.

Charter Members


Patricia Berry
Adrienne Patricia Lofton
Carol J. Briggs
Phyllis McIntosh McCune
Joan Dameron Crisler
Carmelita Rivera
Carolyn Dean
Claudia Brooks Russell
**Loyce Mason Epps
Audrey Renae Sanders
Valerie Michele Everett
Carolyn Daise Schanette
**Vanora Eyvette Grover
Cathy G. Simms
Patricia Ann Hill
Kathy L. Spencer
Brenda Lynn Mills Hogan
Gail Street-Coe
Diana Hamilton James
Velencia L. McCord Watkins
Willa Young Jennings
Kevena Turner Williams
Doris Powell Kyle
Belinda Brown Williamson


**Ivy Beyond the Wall

(Excerpts from Pledged to Remember - The History of Central Region)